Notepad on Life

March 3, 2012

Sofa King lame

Filed under: Advertising,TV — - @ 1:49 pm

Much as I’m against bad language becoming routine, I do have some sympathy for Sofa King. The Northampton furniture store has been told to ‘revisit’ its marketing catchphrase after complaints about its price range being described in press ads as “Sofa King Low”.

It comes as no surprise that past complaints about this rather ingenious tweak on the English vernacular apparently warranted a police investigation. Ask anyone about the law and order concerns that keep them awake at night and I’m sure racy wordplay will be right up there with stabbings and crack.

Personally, I’d let the whole thing ride, for the same reason that I lose little sleep over the FCUK brand. Whatever the intent might be, neither company is actually inflicting overt crudity upon us. If you want to read it that way, that’s your choice.

If that sounds like I’m splitting hairs, then let me introduce some rather more wanton offenders when it comes to dragging modern culture down the toilet. Alongside our TV companies, I would suggest, the thin veneer of subtlety employed by Sofa King and FCUK makes them look like knights in shining armour.

There seems to be a bit of a game going on in TV land. I have this nagging suspicion that wine bars and designer coffee houses are full of TV executives at the end of the working day, all vying to outdo each other for ‘edginess’ by boasting of the latest holes they just punched in the 9pm watershed.

Quite frankly, that Maginot line of taste and decency is a joke these days. I’ve lost count of the words now deemed acceptable for a pre-9pm audience – “pissed”, “shit”, “bastard”. The first “fuck”, if it hasn’t breached the defence already, is only a matter of time, at which point it will be doubles all round among TV folk everywhere.

I’ve given up writing to OFCOM. As soon as I realised I was dealing with an organisation that seems to think rules can be scrapped as soon as enough people break them, I knew I was wasting my time.

So we’re left with a madhouse in which the mere suggestion of foul language is jumped on, while an explicit rendition of the same goes through on the nod.

And grown-up people think this is progress.

1 Comment »

  1. Completely agree with you. I think all this extra publicity just blows it out of proportion.

    Comment by adpraisal — March 3, 2012 @ 4:18 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

