Notepad on Life

January 23, 2013

Argos – beware companies bearing gifts…

Filed under: Consumer — - @ 9:00 am
Tags:
Former Argos logo introduced in 1999, until Ja...

(Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Click here to claim your next £10 cash back voucher on your next Argos purchase,” the website announced after I completed my transaction.

I don’t know why I even give this stuff half a chance any more but there we are. I clicked.

And Argos did not let me down. The cashback deal is actually £15 but the catch was even juicier.

“Congratulations… here’s your special reward to thank you for being a valued Argos customer!

Get your £15 cash back voucher by signing up for all the cash back rewards of Shopper Discounts & Rewards, a premier online savings service FREE for the next 30 days and only £10 per month thereafter.”

Right. So this ‘cash back’ deal of yours, Argos, actually ends up with me paying you money.

Here’s the button I think you should have on your post-transaction page:

“I was not born yesterday. Please get me the hell away from all your attempts to extract further monies under the guise of doing me a favour.”

I’d click that button all right.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

