Notepad on Life

May 17, 2016

Movie genres can leave you short on credibility

Filed under: business,Cinema — - @ 10:50 am
Tags: , , , ,

All right, so sub-prime mortgages may not be prime cinematic material, and some people may regard the trigger for even a global depression as being about as interesting as the reproductive cycle of anteaters.

Nevertheless, I was crestfallen. Having just watched The Big Short – the film of Michael Lewis’ book on those very topics – marvelled at the ease with which Steve Carell switches from comedy to a serious role and come away thinking that not even Wall Street was this good, I messaged a friend in LA to ask if he’d seen it.

He’s a lawyer, an MBA, and has run numerous businesses in his time. Surely he too will have been buzzing at this tour de force of financial intrigue?

“We started to watch it but it started off so slowly we got bored with it to be honest,” came the reply. “I might give it another go…”

I suddenly felt a little pathetic.

On the positive side, it was a lesson learnt, I suppose, on the need to be selective when going public with your enthusiasm. There might be a certain free-spirited cachet to being the only guy in the room who likes a movie about war or the Mob but when it’s about credit default swaps and the housing market, you look more like the bloke who drinks on his own a lot.

Oh well; make of me what you will…

 

 

1 Comment »

  1. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was
    extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and
    say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any points for novice blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

    Comment by vm-01.magneticgrid.com — December 9, 2016 @ 5:28 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

